Chocolate Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

chocolate chocolate chip peanut butter cookie sandwiches recipe
I think my two favorite goodies to make are brownies and chocolate chip cookies. So I end up playing around with my favorites a lot and I end up with lots of variations.
Just like how I used my favorite brownie recipe to make Marble Cheesecake Brownies that I made about a week ago. So GOOD!
My favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe is from a super old Betty Crocker cookbook my mom has.
Found here but I half the recipe.

Thus I created a Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cookie. And then just because I’m a little bit obsessed with peanut butter I made some peanut butter filling and created the Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches.
And let me tell you they do not disappoint!
They are super rich so I could only eat about two. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t saved a couple for the next day.
Now on to the good stuff…
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies
1/3 cup shortening
1/3 cup butter or 1/3 cup margarine, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup dark cocoa
1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans recommended)
1/2 (12 ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream together shortening, butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar. Then mix in egg, and vanilla. In another bowl combine flour, salt, baking soda, salt, and cocoa. Combine flour mixture with sugar mixture until all ingredients are wet. Add in nut and chocolate chips. Roll into 1-inch balls and place on an ungreased cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet as soon as they are out of the oven and let cool.
Peanut Butter Filling
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
Once the chocolate cookies are cooled, taken a small ball of peanut butter filling, flatten into a patty and sandwich between two cookies.

So Good!!! Enjoy!!

Leave a comment