Travel Art Pouch

I’ve needed a little carrier for all my pencils and pens for some time now. I have a wooden pencil box that I keep at home, but its pretty difficult to transport to different places. I couldn’t find any pouches that I liked. Either the fabric wasn’t appealing to me or it didn’t function the way I wanted it to, so I decided to make my own. Yes, it requires sewing…and yes, I am getting better! 
I used vinyl and flannel fabrics — I really like the texture combination.
I cut a 9 x 5 inch rectangle out of each of the fabrics. 
I took the grey flannel and hemmed one of 5 inch sides to make the opening prettier. Then, with the right side of the vinyl facing up I sewed the two rectangles together, leaving the top open. 

Then I flipped it right side out so the blue part of the vinyl faced out.
The mistake I made on this particular pouch was that I didn’t lay the grey flannel with the inside of the hem facing down when I sewed it together, so when I flipped it right side out, you can see the hem. 
I’m okay with it…it gives it a touch of character.
Vinyl, as it turns out, is hard to fold and you can’t iron it to make a nice crease….the heat melts it. 
Learned that the hard way. 
So I sewed down the vinyl that I left sticking out of the top.

I cut out an extra piece of vinyl the same width as the pouch and rounded the corners. 
(Notice the different fabric? Magic…..)

Lastly, I sewed the flap on, and trimmed any excess fabric.

Not bad if I do say so myself! I’m pretty excited at how these turned out. They fit my pens and pencils perfectly! It’s just the right size for me to take anywhere I want. 
I’m definitely going to be making more in different sizes. 

Because I don’t ever sew anything, I wanted to share my first two pouches that I made. As you can see….they’re pretty terrible. One you can’t even close the flap, it’s totally off center and crooked. And the other one, I laid the fabric the wrong way when I sewed them together so it looked inside out when I was finished. I also tried a little pocket on the front. Good idea, if you’re able to. I certainly, am not.
I just see so many perfect photos online of projects people have completed and think “I can’t do that, mine won’t turn out like that.” And while my finished product is far from perfect, I wouldn’t want someone to think they weren’t able to make something like that. 
I’m a big believer in practice. Practice patience and you’ll make something you love and are proud of.

Leave a comment